Size Does Matter curated by Shaquille O’Neal

Posted on March 12, 2010

0


Shaq Attacks Art World in ‘Size DOES Matter’ PBS News Hour link

Yup that’s rightThat’s NBA superstar Shaquille O’Neal is an Art Curator. He has done a pretty good job curating the “Size Does Matter” exhibition.

“I was curious to see what he was going to do,” said Close. “But I have to say, I am really very pleasantly surprised. I think he put together an interesting selection of work. And he did a whole hell of a lot better figuring out what art to put in here than I would get shooting hoops, I’ll tell you that.”…. Chuck Close

Follow the link and watch the video… Shaq Attacks Art World in ‘Size DOES Matter’

Flag Art Foundation

Shaq the Art Curator

http://www.flagartfoundation.org/current/index.html

I love this exhibition and I even more love the fact that Shaquille O’Neal curated the exhibition. After all who could better understand how size matters than a man who is larger than average. The average is how all space and products are designed. Frank Lloyd Wright determined that the average size of a human being was 5’4″ to 5’7″. This measurement became the standard for architectural design. Door ways, counter tops and cabinets. Not to mention toilets and sinks. If your out side of the average in any direction of height width or girth, well you just don’t fit.

Right Kevin?

Right Kevin? Hey he isn’t that big, Airplanes are just designed towards small. I have to set in an aisle seat because the sides of the sloping fuselage forces me to hold my head to one side because I am too tall. And how about those arm rests or the 3 deep seats. Aviators tend to be an average sized group because of design implications. I remember standing in front of John Glenn’s space craft Friendship 7 at the Air and Space museum thinking “How d he get in there”? What is more amazing is they got him out! Size impacts us everyday, everywhere.

Big Man Size Does Matter

I like the tiny working elevators in the exhibit too!


